Just a bunch of sticks …

wp-1485010285127.jpg

Well hell yes, I have planted a bunch of sticks.  There is method in my madness however.  G and I are going on a course at the National Botanical Gardens in Llanarthne in April to learn how to make garden supports out of willow.  I had been wondering about where you get willow from and watching the great Alys Fowler recently gave me the idea.  Her ‘Edible Garden’ series is currently being repeated on a Sunday morning and in the second episode she too decides she would like to use willow and she and her ‘willow’ friend go to their local park and pick from bundles left after pruning (or coppicing I guess).

I remembered that my local cycle path has willow growing next to one of the ponds on the route.  The willow was originally a beautiful willow tunnel

20170121_150532.jpg

Copyright Caerphilly Country Borough Council

but unfortunately the tunnel has separated and it is now just a path with lots of young willow trees growing either side of it.  Ah-ha I thought, I just go and prune a couple of lengths of willow, plant it and see what happens.

So G and I cycled down to the willow this afternoon, cut a couple of lengths  (hopefully we won’t get into trouble for doing this) and brought it back to plant.  In my research into the willow it seems that also the thinner cuttings just need to be left in a vase of water and they too should root.  So (apologies not a great picture) I also have a vase of sticks.

20170121_145037.jpg

Well you just never know.  I think in our first year however we may need to rely on more commercial sources for our willow, unless of course Caerphilly Borough Council will give us permission to go and coppice from the willow that is there. Hmm, now there’s a thought.

Oh, remember the tomatillo from the last post – well they have germinated already.  None of the sweet peppers have as yet though.

2 thoughts on “Just a bunch of sticks …

  1. I hope it takes off for you. We grew willow from some big sticks a few years ago and once it takes hold it’s fabulously prolific / needs regular trimming during the season (using it as a fence extension). Seems to do best planted in the ground. The few we pit in a plastic bin are a little slow I’m comparison. Good luck!

    Like

  2. Thank you – it’s all learning. Am not sure atm if the allotment will let me start growing it there – need to check the rules first. In a bucket to start with and then we will see. Otherwise I will contact local council to see if I can just harvest from them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment